When I try merge Customers I am unable to do this unless I am the only user in the system. Why is this?
The merge Customers Utility looks at all tables and for this to happen only one user can be in the system. The risk of other users opening a job or invoice has to be removed.
To merge accounts, the Account to Merge is the Account that you do not want to keep.
The Destination Account is the Account that will be retained.
A Prompt will show the details of both accounts
Run the Customer Integrity Check with History after you have completed all of the Merges. It is not necessary to do this for each account if you are merging several at one time.